In exhibition workshop « CAROLINE TSCHUMI – ILLUMINATED PRINCESSES »

 

Immersion and making of in the workshop of Riex

As a preview dive in a video into a part of Caroline Tschumi’s universe! The Swiss artist will be exhibiting her works at Chillon Castle from 9 September 2022 to 19 February 2023.

Behind the scenes of the contemporary art exhibition, the Vaud-based draughtswoman reveals part of the making of her 12 portraits of countesses and duchesses of Savoy, giving the final touch to Beatrice of Portugal. Generous and spontaneous in her production and in the sharing of her ideas and techniques, Caroline Tschumi answers with sincerity to a making-of interview in the heart of her studio.

In this commission, the Chillon Castle Foundation invites the artist to reinterpret, through her colourful, magical and striking universe, the portrait of aristocratic women who were part of the House of Savoy at the end of the Middle Ages and to draw inspiration from the monument, its political and artistic history and its landscape.

Find the catalog of the exhibition with the point of view of specialists as well as historical references.

Portrait of the artist Caroline Tschumi

Caroline Tschumi (1983, Swiss) is an artist who lives and works in Riex.

After graduating in Visual Arts with honours from the Geneva School of Art and Design HEAD-Geneva in 2009, she obtained a Master in Contemporary Art Practices WORKMASTER in 2018.

Her work is mainly based on a regular activity of drawing and painting, creating a dreamlike and phantasmagorical mythology where figures, imagined and imaginary situations, as well as more or less recognizable characters come together. Since 2019, she has added to her practice that of installation (The voice within, Smallville Space, Neuchâtel) as well as that of sound and musical creation (Péplum, 2020, Abstract, Lausanne).

In 2020, she joined two Swiss museum collections, the Mamco in Geneva and the Musée Jenisch in Vevey. In 2021, she participated in the group exhibition Winter Garden #1 How can one be (from the next village) Persian (Martian)? at the Musée cantonal des Beaux-Arts de Lausanne MCBA. In the same year, she was invited by the Mamco to hold a solo exhibition of notebooks and drawings in the museum’s graphic art cabinet. The period represented in the exhibition covers more than the last ten years of the artist’s practice. At La Ferme de la Chapelle in Grand-Lancy, Geneva, the artist decodes pregnancies and childbirth in “Mothership”.

Online ticket office

Dans l’atelier de l’exposition « Caroline Tschumi – Princesses en lumière »

 

Immersion et making of dans l’atelier de Riex

 

En avant-première, plongez en vidéo dans un pan de l’univers de Caroline Tschumi ! L’artiste suisse exposera ses œuvres au château de Chillon™ du 9 septembre 2022 au 19 février 2023.

Dans les coulisses de l’exposition d’art contemporain, la dessinatrice vaudoise dévoile une partie de la fabrication de ses 12 portraits de comtesses et duchesses de Savoie, en donnant la touche finale à Béatrice de Portugal. Généreuse et spontanée dans sa production et dans le partage de ses idées ainsi que ses techniques, Caroline Tschumi répond avec sincérité à une interview façon making of au cœur de son atelier.

Dans cette commande, la Fondation du Château de Chillon invite la dessinatrice à réinterpréter à travers son univers coloré, magique et saisissant le portrait de femmes aristocrates ayant fait partie de la Maison de Savoie à la fin du Moyen Âge et à s’inspirer du monument, de son histoire politico-artistique et de son paysage.

Retrouvez le catalogue de l’exposition avec le point de vue de spécialistes ainsi que des repères historiques.

Portrait de l’artiste Caroline Tschumi

 

Caroline Tschumi (1983, Suisse) est artiste, elle vit et travaille à Riex.

Après avoir obtenu un diplôme en Arts Visuels option représentation avec mention à la Haute Ecole d’Arts et de Design de Genève HEAD-Genève en 2009, elle y obtient par la suite un master en pratiques artistiques contemporaines WORKMASTER en 2018.

Son travail est principalement basé sur une activité régulière du dessin et de la peinture, créant une mythologie onirique et fantasmagorique où viennent se rencontrer des figures, des situations imaginées et imaginaires, ainsi que des personnages plus ou moins reconnaissables. Depuis 2019, elle ajoute à sa pratique également celle de l’installation (The voice within, Smallville Space, Neuchâtel) ainsi que celle du son et de la création musicale (Péplum, 2020, Abstract, Lausanne).

Elle intègre en 2020 deux collections de musées suisses, celle du Mamco à Genève et celle du musée Jenisch à Vevey. En 2021, elle participe à l’exposition collective Jardin d’hiver #1 Comment peut-on être (du village d’à côté) persan (martien) ? au musée cantonal des Beaux-Arts de Lausanne MCBA. Elle est invitée la même année par le Mamco à réaliser une exposition personnelle de carnets et de dessins au cabinet d’art graphique du musée. La période représentée dans l’exposition recouvre plus des dix dernières années de pratique de l’artiste. À La Ferme de la Chapelle au Grand-Lancy à Genève, la dessinatrice décode les grossesses et accouchements dans « Mothership ».

Billetterie en ligne