In exhibition workshop « CAROLINE TSCHUMI – ILLUMINATED PRINCESSES »

 

Immersion and making of in the workshop of Riex

As a preview dive in a video into a part of Caroline Tschumi’s universe! The Swiss artist will be exhibiting her works at Chillon Castle from 9 September 2022 to 19 February 2023.

Behind the scenes of the contemporary art exhibition, the Vaud-based draughtswoman reveals part of the making of her 12 portraits of countesses and duchesses of Savoy, giving the final touch to Beatrice of Portugal. Generous and spontaneous in her production and in the sharing of her ideas and techniques, Caroline Tschumi answers with sincerity to a making-of interview in the heart of her studio.

In this commission, the Chillon Castle Foundation invites the artist to reinterpret, through her colourful, magical and striking universe, the portrait of aristocratic women who were part of the House of Savoy at the end of the Middle Ages and to draw inspiration from the monument, its political and artistic history and its landscape.

Find the catalog of the exhibition with the point of view of specialists as well as historical references.

Portrait of the artist Caroline Tschumi

Caroline Tschumi (1983, Swiss) is an artist who lives and works in Riex.

After graduating in Visual Arts with honours from the Geneva School of Art and Design HEAD-Geneva in 2009, she obtained a Master in Contemporary Art Practices WORKMASTER in 2018.

Her work is mainly based on a regular activity of drawing and painting, creating a dreamlike and phantasmagorical mythology where figures, imagined and imaginary situations, as well as more or less recognizable characters come together. Since 2019, she has added to her practice that of installation (The voice within, Smallville Space, Neuchâtel) as well as that of sound and musical creation (Péplum, 2020, Abstract, Lausanne).

In 2020, she joined two Swiss museum collections, the Mamco in Geneva and the Musée Jenisch in Vevey. In 2021, she participated in the group exhibition Winter Garden #1 How can one be (from the next village) Persian (Martian)? at the Musée cantonal des Beaux-Arts de Lausanne MCBA. In the same year, she was invited by the Mamco to hold a solo exhibition of notebooks and drawings in the museum’s graphic art cabinet. The period represented in the exhibition covers more than the last ten years of the artist’s practice. At La Ferme de la Chapelle in Grand-Lancy, Geneva, the artist decodes pregnancies and childbirth in “Mothership”.

Online ticket office

Im Atelier der Ausstellung „Caroline Tschumi – Prinzessinnen im Rampenlicht“

 

Eintauchen und Making of im Atelier in Riex

Tauchen Sie als Vorpremiere im Video in einen Teil des Universums von Caroline Tschumi ein! Die Schweizer Künstlerin wird ihre Werke vom 9. September 2022 bis zum 19. Februar 2023 im Schloss Chillon ausstellen.

Hinter den Kulissen der Ausstellung für zeitgenössische Kunst enthüllt die Waadtländer Zeichnerin einen Teil der Herstellung ihrer 12 Porträts von Gräfinnen und Herzoginnen von Savoyen, wobei sie Beatrice von Portugal den letzten Schliff verleiht. Caroline Tschumi ist großzügig und spontan, sowohl in ihrer Produktion als auch in der Weitergabe ihrer Ideen und Techniken. Sie antwortet aufrichtig und auf ein Interview im Stil eines Making of im Herzen ihres Ateliers.

In diesem Auftrag lädt die Stiftung Schloss Chillon die Zeichnerin ein, durch ihre farbenfrohe, magische und eindringliche Welt die Porträts aristokratischer Frauen, die im Spätmittelalter zum Haus Savoyen gehörten, neu zu interpretieren und sich von dem Monument, seiner politisch-künstlerischen Geschichte und seiner Landschaft inspirieren zu lassen.

Hier finden Sie den Katalog mit den Ansichten von Spezialisten sowie historischen Anhaltspunkten.

Porträt der Künstlerin Caroline Tschumi

Caroline Tschumi (1983, Schweiz) ist Künstlerin und lebt und arbeitet in Riex.

Nachdem sie 2009 an der Haute Ecole d’Arts et de Design de Genève HEAD-Genève ein Diplom in Visual Arts option représentation mit Auszeichnung erhalten hat, erlangt sie dort 2018 einen Master in zeitgenössischen Kunstpraktiken WORKMASTER.

Ihre Arbeit basiert hauptsächlich auf einer regelmäßigen Beschäftigung mit Zeichnen und Malen und schafft eine traumhafte und fantasmagorische Mythologie, in der Figuren, erdachte und imaginäre Situationen sowie mehr oder weniger erkennbare Charaktere aufeinandertreffen. Seit 2019 ergänzt sie ihre Praxis auch um die der Installation (The voice within, Smallville Space, Neuchâtel) sowie um die des Klangs und der musikalischen Kreation (Péplum, 2020, Abstract, Lausanne).

Im Jahr 2020 wird sie in zwei Schweizer Museumssammlungen aufgenommen, die des Mamco in Genf und die des Musée Jenisch in Vevey. Im Jahr 2021 nimmt sie an der Gruppenausstellung Jardin d’hiver #1 Comment peut-on être (du village d’à côté) persan (martien)? im Musée cantonal des Beaux-Arts de Lausanne MCBA teil. Im selben Jahr wurde sie vom Mamco eingeladen, eine Einzelausstellung mit Notizbüchern und Zeichnungen im Grafikkabinett des Museums zu realisieren. Der in der Ausstellung vertretene Zeitraum umfasst mehr als die letzten zehn Jahre der Praxis der Künstlerin. In La Ferme de la Chapelle in Grand-Lancy, Genf, entschlüsselt die Zeichnerin in „Mothership“ Schwangerschaften und Geburten.

Online-Ticketshop