It has been here for over one hundred years opposite the castle, facing the lake, offering tourists visiting Chillon Castle postcards of the site, posters, souvenirs and objects representing the medieval fortress.
The bazaar building is typical of the Heimatstil architecture, and appeared for the first time on plans drawn up by the cantonal architect Albert Naef in 1897. At the time, they were already thinking about the comfort of the constantly increasing number of visitors. Nonetheless, the work for building a small shop with a public toilet at the back, and a waiting room at the front, only began in 1904. The bazaar was extended in 1939, however no other construction work was undertaken until 2014, when the public restrooms had to be urgently rebuilt.
Since September 2015, the exterior and interior of the building have been refurbished; the wooden roof frame has been restored, the screening of the main façade has been renewed, the sloping ridges have been replaced, insulation has been installed, electrical installation have been completely changed, and the interior redesigned with new furnishings, a glass wall, etc.
After many months of renovation, the building re-opened its doors to the public on 24 March 2016. It houses a new shop where tourists will be delighted to find postcards, posters and all kinds of objects representing the castle.
Come and discover the large selection of products similiar to those on sale in our Museum Shop inside the castle.
April to September: from 9AM to 6:45 PM
October: from 9:30AM to 5:45PM
November to February: from 10AM to 4:45PM
March: from 9:30AM to 5:45PM